a moment ~ gone by ~ in words ~scribbled

Two Thousand Four
2004-01-05
4:12 p.m.

Two-Thousand-Four.

Has found me living, and I'm not sure how to write such a discovery.

To say that I am happy is too clich�d to waste in such an anonymous format--it is best saved for the old-friend-turned-acquaintance whom you meet unexpectedly while shopping.

When I think of happy, I think of kittens lapping milk. I think of new, perfect-fitting jeans. I think of Spring. Shimmering newness.

And although there are many new, vibrant pages in my life, happy fails me.

Instead, I am crocheted potholders and knitted scarves. I am cream-of-wheat cereal and a cup of cocoa. I am cold soil on bare feet. I am the smell of earth before and after rain in June. I am the fragrance of apples simmering into applesauce.

Two-Thousand-Four.

Has found me here.

In a new apartment with my lover. Blue-translucent curtains. Wood floors the color of dark brown sugar.

An office for my books.

And space to live.

Previous ~ Next

Download Dauphin