a moment ~ gone by ~ in words ~scribbled

a brief history
2002-08-03
9:45 p.m.

Going back further than two years ago, I can tell you who I was. I can tell you how I felt about the world around me and the people in my life. I was a dreamer--a child, really. I hadn't yet lost the naivete of youth--the ability to trust everyone I met and be entirely myself no matter what people thought of me. I came across, of course, to those who disapproved of my passion and excitement of the world around me, as immature and childish. There were those who would tell me point-blank that I was silly, and even stupid, for taking pleasure in staring at the sky at night or lying in the grass under trees for hours. I loved myself then. I mean, my self-esteem may not have been the best, but inwardly, I was more certain of who I was more than almost all of my friends. I never waivered in my feelings for people or things, and I could speak of love. I could write of love. I could exist purely in loving. I would walk for hours at night (I'm writing now of my college years, specifically), touching trees and flowers as I walked past them, and feeling the cool night air on my skin as if it were the fingers of a lover. I did more than feel such things, but I could speak of it, too, if someone were walking beside me. I could tell them the texture of a flower petal felt like heavy cream or that the air, right before a thunderstorm, felt like the moments before an explosive, all-encompassing, orgasm. I would never hesitate in sharing my feelings, thoughts, observations, beliefs, or intuitions. I trusted myself, and I was not afraid of appearing childish or silly. Perhaps it was, also, that I trusted the people in my life...

But then I went to Europe for four months, and my traveling/studying companions were twelve people I had never met. Twelve people for whom I could re-invent myself, if I decided to do so, but at first, I had no desire to alter anything of myself, but within the first couple of days, it became drastically apparent to me that of the twelve, I was the most dramatic--the one most prone to reacting out of passion and feeling rather than intellect and reason, and I felt out of place and alienated. Of course, it wasn't the first time in my life that I felt alienated, but it was the first time in my life that I couldn't leave the group and the space to find a more copesetic place and people that fit my personality better, so I began to adjust to those around me. I began to keep my emotions and feelings to myself; I silented my observations and my thoughts about the metal curve of bridges and slant of sunlight on buildings. And I began to lose the ability to articulate my feelings and wonderings of my soul. All because, for the first time in my life, I was afraid of being laughed at by my peers.

And then there was the day, in late September, that we traveled to a concentration camp in a suburb of Berlin. I choke with tears even now, remembering what it felt like to be in that concentration camp--barren of the tortured souls that stood for hours in the fields now filled with wildflowers and tourists. The smell of the barricks; the cremetorium ovens collapsing into the ground through the broken cement platform, and the feeling of smallness and unworthiness when I walked away from the gas chamber door--when I walked in the direction that thousands never did--all these things infiltrated every part of myself. No amount of fear of being ridiculed could have prevented me, on that day, from being overwhelmed by emotion that I couldn't hide from those around me. In that group of twelve, though, I felt more alone on that day than I had felt in my entire life.

That night in Berlin, after traveling back to the city, I left the other students and the pension for a walk by myself. In a strange city, where very few knew and spoke English, I felt myself sinking into a sadness that not only encompassed what I had witnessed at the concentration camp but wrapped around everything that had happened in my life up until that point. I relived moments of the sexual abuse I suffered as a child and adolescent. They crashed into the back of my eyelids like metal rods--images of hands and penis, memories of standing at the door watching, and images of vomiting afterwards. I also relived the day my sister died over and over again. Flames. Smoke. The feeling of nausea and weekness that made me kneel on one knee in the front yard, gasping for breath. There were other events, as well, that screwed their way into the back of my eyelids with each blink. I walked for hours, getting more and more lost and finally, I stopped in front of a corner liquor store. I had no idea where I was, but I knew how alcohol could blur the sharp images behind my eyes, so I bought and consumed nearly an entire bottle of vodka. The world did become fuzzy and muted, as if I were walking under water, and the images slowed and became less powerful in their lack of vibrance.

Eventually, by some miracle, I found myself back to the pension. Perhaps my legs had remembered the way I walked, but I truly can't tell you how I found my way back. It was nearly dawn. I slipped into the room I was sharing with one of the other students and fell, exhausted, into bed, but I didn't sleep. I layed awake, watching the shadows move slowly across the high ceiling, and I cried silently. I cried out of self-pity, very aware that I was too much of a coward to kill myself, but knowing that I wanted more than anything not to feel another emotion for the rest of my life. And so it was then, in the pre-dawn hours, in the Pension Kreuzberg of Berlin, that I made the conscious decision to cut the chord of my soul that felt the world so strongly.

That was an easier decision to make than put into action. I couldn't help but *feel* everything around me. I couldn't help to walk down the street and feel the sadness of a woman walking towards me or the loneliness of an old man sitting on a park bench, bundled in a tattered, wool overcoat, but I was determined. So I began the re-training of my inner self. By late November, I was inwardly miserable. I was quaking with loneliness and depression, but outwardly, no one could tell. I smiled and I interacted as I should. I went to class and out in the evenings with the other students, and I can honestly say a part of me was very happy--how could I not have been? I was, after all, in Europe, but I had no space of my own.

I began to search for something that would alleviate the heaviness within me, and for some reason, I still can't explain, I looked online. I searched through what seemed like hundreds of personal ads; not sure what I was looking for in the brief snippits of people's personalities. I replied to one--only one. A woman in Delaware, because she made me laugh outloud. As it turned out, this was Catherine and so began possibly the most intense relationship I've ever had in my life. We began slowly--an email a day, but the emails were novellas full of beautiful, intellectual, passionate words, and after the first week, we were writing each other two or three times a day, and we were chatting through the night as I worked on my major research paper and she studied for finals. For the first time in months, I allowed myself to feel again, but more importantly, to share what I was feeling with someone else as I used to do before coming to Europe. I poured myself into Catherine, emptying my soul into the words that flew across cyberspace at speeds faster than a soul transcends earth, and I fell in love for the first time in my life, really. Up until that point, I had loved many people and things, but nothing had ever felt so elevated--so pure and so complete. The depression lifted that had settled around me under the gaze of Catherine, because I had found a space to be me completely, and I was giving myself permission again, to feel.

My last month in Europe went quickly enough. I finished up my classes and walked, for the last time, along the canals at night, and then I came home full of expectation and passion for a woman I had never met. And soon after I was home, I heard her voice for the first time. Shivers enveloped me. I felt as if I was being born again, and her voice was the sound of oxygen rushing into my lungs for the first time. And in another month, I saw her for the first time. I had never been so nervous as I walked to her door. My stomach was in my throat, and I was dizzy with anticipation. As she opened the door, I inhaled sharply, because she was the most beautiful woman I've ever seen in my life. She hugged me, and that began the most erotic weekend of my life, though hugging and hand-holding was the only physicalness between us. We didn't even kiss. That weekend in late January, she held desperately onto the fear of wanting me after I left and not being able to have me, and I held desperately to my hopes of someday and beyond. We laughed and we cried that weekend, and we had our moments of companiable silence, weighted only with the knowledge that soon I would have to leave.

And as she hugged me when I arrived, she hugged me when I left. Later, we would both write to each other of our mutual desire, and hesitancy, to kiss one another. I cried four of the eight hours home in the silence and privacy of my car. I was feeling so many feelings--including the most basic of them all--happiness and sadness. And on that drive, my love for Catherine was beginnning its journey into bittersweet.

Again, as I did in Berlin, I found myself questioning the intensity of my emotions, and I began to convince myself that I would be happier--life would be easier--if I didn't feel so much. Catherine and I began to grow a part--mostly from my actions than hers, because I was pushing her away. I was pushing everything away that reminded myself of how I could feel. I met and dated Samantha--a woman so incompatible with me that I'm not sure how we even began to date. I had no reason to feel intensely with Samantha, because she encouraged as little emotion as possible. Things were practical, functional between us, and ashamedly, hateful. I resented Samantha more and more everyday, because she represented what I thought I needed to be, and she resented me more everyday, because I could never settle into the practiced and rudimentary lifestyle she craved. And let's face it, she wasn't Catherine.

Samantha and I ended abruptly and violently--not physcially, but emotionally. There was hours of yelling and crying, and there was a lot of hurt. We both felt foreign to ourselves, which hurt most of all. We felt ashamed of ourselves. Meanwhile, Catherine and I were barely talking. We went months without an email or chatting, until the day Samantha and I broke up. I called Catherine from a hotel room somewhere in Tennessee, crying hysterically and feeling, again, that encroaching desire to die. Months previously, I had hurt Catherine terribly--lashing out at her in a moment of frustration and hopelessness. Lashing out of her with a jealousy that I was not the person she was with, and with a certainness that I may never be, hence our estrangement from one another. But on that late night, she listened to me sob, and she was so scared for me.

That night, however, was another stepping stone in pushing myself further from feeling, and as the months went on, I became better and better at not caring so much. Catherine saw it happening sooner than I realized I was succeeding. She began to pointedly state that I wasn't the same as I had been before, and I would become frustrated with her. Telling her that she didn't know me at all, though if truth be told, she knows me better than anyone else has ever known me.

Leslie and I began dating. And I convinced myself, though it was difficult, to try one more time at feeling deeply and intensely. I put all my emotions into my relationship with Leslie. I was the romantic, child-like self that I always enjoyed--especailly before going to Europe and dating Samantha, but my relationship with Leslie was, as I've said before, a candle burning at both ends. I was trying to convince myelf, more than Leslie, that I was in love with her. I'm certain that I was, but I'm also certain that I knew, from the beginning, that Leslie and I could never be for each other what we needed. It was a beautiful relationship, at first--full of roses and wine; music and late-night rendez-vous, but even the best things end. And we fell into a relationship lasting through habit more than passion. New Year's was the true beginning of the end. Leslie exclaimed emotions were bullshit, and although I protested, I felt myself collapsing inside--deflated, because I felt that I had failed myself, because part of me couldn't help cheering after she made that statement. Less than two months later, we were broken up, and I was receding, more quickly than I ever had before, into myself.

My interactions with others became less and less. I could barely bring myself to email Catherine, which compounded the issues in our friendship even more, because not only was I less emotive, less intense, less of who I was when we first met, it appeared that I was making as little effort as possible to salvage our very damaged friendship. But the truth was, in my self-made estrangement from Catherine, and many of my other close friends, I was quickly forgetting how to be myself. I lost confidence in my ability to care and interact. I lost confidence in my writing. I lost confidence in my emotions. I shut off, and it wasn't until recently--two months, maybe, that I finally realized that I didn't know myself any longer, because I don't know the me that doesn't feel. I don't recognize the self that can't write a paragraph devoted entirely to the way I feel about a blade of grass.

I began to notice that the interactions with my friends were curt and cursory, at best. I began, also, to become aware that I confused my friends to the point that they didn't even enjoy my company. Even Dani made countless observations that I wasn't being myself. And slowly, I realized that I didn't like who I'd become, but it would have been better if I realized it sooner than later, because I'm finding it's more difficult to find myself than to lose myself.

For the past couple of months, I have struggled and fought to find the emotions and paths of myself that I buried and tucked away. The hardest thing, I'm discovering, is to be brave again. To be brave with emoting and vocalizing my thoughts outloud. I am still quaking inside with a distrust of myself. I spent so many months convincing myself of the ridiculousness of being too much that it's taking me twice as long to relearn, if it's possible, the way I once was--finding, in essence, what I didn't lose. I have sought Catherine's help, because she hasn't given up on me. She pleads for the intense parts of myself, and somtimes I feel she does back me up into corners, but I also relish her assertiveness and strength and insistence, because she doesn't let be get away with the easy way out--she forces me to be.

Previous ~ Next

Download Dauphin