a moment ~ gone by ~ in words ~scribbled

accidental discoveries
2003-09-16
10:18 a.m.

There are so many things in science that were discovered accidentally. Moldy bread saved generations. An apple led to the most famous theory in physics. Daguerre, playing with the effects of light, all but invented modern photography.

I've been pensive lately.

Turning over and around in my mind the models of relationships and love I have from my past, from novels, from film, from love stories passed on through generations.

What if, I've been wondering, a love different, fuller, lasting were to begin completely on accident.

It's rather a curious thought, and I must confess, I'm distracted by it. But the what if always grabs hold of me--as if it were the muse of love instead of science.

Previous ~ Next

Download Dauphin