a moment ~ gone by ~ in words ~scribbled

ending
2003-07-21
10:46 a.m.

It was my ending to our relationship.

Tracy Chapman in the evening on the water.

Jelly fish over the railing on the pier and distance between our shoulders as we walked.

Her first concert, and I was shocked, saying out loud a thought that was inappropriate to anyone but us.

She looked stern for a moment then smiled. We didn�t come together because it was difficult.

The sun set over the city and the water deepened just beyond our seats, the stage.

This is my ending I whispered under my breath, but I�m sure she didn�t hear, lost already to the way we used to listen to one another, listening for ourselves.

We both cried listening to Chapman lament. She didn�t tell me what she was thinking. I didn�t tell her what I was thinking. We sat side by side, holding hands at one point, hugging at various points, separate. Knowing that although the lyrics made us cry for something that was, we both no longer wanted the other.

Remembering
Your touch
Your kiss
Your warm embrace
I�ll find my way back to you
If you�ll be waiting


This was my ending, I told her after walking her home, and that time, she heard.

Previous ~ Next

Download Dauphin