a moment ~ gone by ~ in words ~scribbled

these tears are for beauty, for me, for her...
13 March 2005
11:13 p.m.

Sometimes, when I lay in bed next to her, I think only of her. I think of the way her buttocks press against my knee. How the warmth through her pajamas comes straight into me, how her breathing is regular and deep, but not so deep that I could never catch up to it in my own sleep.

Each night, once or twice, when she believes me to be asleep, she re-adjusts the blanket on me, covering more of my shoulders. At other times, she runs her hand along my back, rubbing, soothing, and she'll kiss whatever body part is exposed, closest to her mouth.

All this, when she believes me to be asleep.

Yet, I am not.

I am lying next to her, thinking of her--waiting for her to drift, so I can feel her body fall into dreams, when I will put my arms around her and hold her, just so, just so...

And sometimes, when I believe her to be asleep, she'll open her galaxy eyes and smile.

Softly, she'll close them again.

I am lying next to her, and I am thinking, feeling nothing but her.

And me.

Previous ~ Next

Download Dauphin