a moment ~ gone by ~ in words ~scribbled

counting tealights like petals
21 November 2004
6:45 p.m.

I'm watching the tealights in my room go out one by one, like stars fading in a rising dawn.

Twenty becomes fifteen becomes five.

And each one, I realize, could hold a wish.

The last time I wished on a star was last week, an evening dark and cold, walking home from the subway station.

One solitary star in the falling night. Lonely and clear. Distant.

A kindred spirit above my unhurried steps.

And under my breath, came the wish--a question more than a dream--a thought more than a desire.

I am just tired, I said to the star.

And the star, in its ever-present objectivity remained unwaivering.

It's not romance, after all, but physics.

And yet, these tealights, first twenty and then fifteen, and now five. Now two.

They could be wishes if I were to shut my eyes and hold my breath and find a rhyme from childhood about believing.

But physics, even when the dawn is rising and the more distant stars are obliterated by the too-close sun, is more comforting than believing in the invisible magic of romance.

And I am tired.

Previous ~ Next

Download Dauphin