a moment ~ gone by ~ in words ~scribbled

Jesus loves you ladies.
2003-11-03
1:13 p.m.

I want to write about Halloween.

About the leaves completely turned, the children (and adults) in costume, the homeless man in a multi-colored baseball cap with a perpellor sitting on a milk crate outside Bertucci's, a small, soft stuffed lion cub, dancing on Washington Street after the movie, a spider in the car, the electric going off on our entire street, a request for batteries in a half-asleep state.

But all I can think of in this moment, looking back, is a woman.

A woman around my mother's age dressed in business casual attire.

And without breaking her stride or acknowledging our humanity: Jesus loves you ladies.

Broke through the rush-hour/ trick-or-treating/ theatre-going/ partying crowd.

In the split-second it took me to glance over my shoulder, she had already blended into deeper anonymity.

Emi looked at me. Did you hear that?

Yes.

Previous ~ Next

Download Dauphin