a moment ~ gone by ~ in words ~scribbled

I love and hear laughter in dreams
2003-11-07
2:13 p.m.

Instead of lying awake at night analyzing life and love and friendship: I sleep. I sleep more deeply than I've slept in years. The nightmares are still there, but they are rarely, these nights, strong enough to wake me. Instead, they weave themselves into brighter, less daunting landscapes of subdued hues and laughter.

I can't remember the last time I heard laughter in a dream.

I wake up every morning to decisions made easily. To life.

In these days I am living fully in my own hands in the arms of my lover in the mind of myself.

And these are just some of the places I live:

In Framingham, tonight, at a coffeehouse, listening to the beautiful voice and lyrics of Mieka Pauley.

Tomorrow, on a rocky beach in Maine watching the full lunar eclipse over the ocean.

On Sunday evening, back in Boston, at the Colonial Theatre mesmerized by Les Miserables.

Ohio for Christmas.

And on January 1st two-thousand-four, I'll be in a new apartment, a new home with Emibeth and her best friend, Lauren.

The two of us plus one.

The three of us plus warmth.

Warmth.

Previous ~ Next

Download Dauphin